The Duke of Edinburgh's Prize has previously been awarded to BSAC members working on an interesting and exciting underwater scientific project

When the late HRH Duke of Edinburgh retired from public duties, the annual Duke of Edinburgh's Prize was retired and the Duke of Cambridge scuba prize, now known as the Prince of Wales Scuba Award, took over. 

The Duke of Edinburgh's Prize annual prize was given to the best underwater scientific project carried out by BSAC members. The Duke of Edinburgh created the prize when he was President of BSAC and the Jubilee Trust (the official charity of BSAC) judge the projects submitted and award the Prize.

The prize winners and two runners-up have always been invited to the Palace for a formal presentation by the Duke himself. Everyone got a signed certificate and the winner receives the Duke's medal.


Grant funding and support

You can apply for a Trust Grant to help fund your research and discovery projects from the Jubilee Trust.

You do not have to have been awarded a Trust Grant to enter the Duke of Cambridge scuba prize, but each year we encourage the best grant-assisted projects to apply. Apply for funding.

Underwater scientific achievement Duke of Edinburgh prize winners

Year Club Project Project report
2015 Dr Matt Doggett Black Bream Project See project report
2014 Alison Mayor  Mulberry 70 See project report 
2013 Neville Oldham  Bigbury Bay Archaeology See project report
2012 Daniel Pascoe HMS Invincible  
2011 Alison Mayor Kedge Hook See project report 
2010 Major Andrew Reid Jurassic Shark 3  
2009 Alison Mayor  Neptune Wrecks Project  
2008 Major Andrew Reid Jurassic Shark 2  
2007 Paul Morris  Isle of Skye Expedition  
2006 Kevin O’Neill  Expedition Benthic Orchid 2  
2005 Marguerite St.Leger Dowse Women and Diving Studies  
2004 Steven Holyoak  Life Beneath the Platforms  
2003 Samantha Harding  Depth, Cognitive Function and Metacognitive Awareness  
2002 Don Asprey  Fiordland New Zealand  
2001 Alasdair Harris  Eucare Madagascar  
2000 Martin Jones  Kiaora Aotearoa  
1999 Al Goodwin  Norsix 99  
1998 James Massey  Bay Islands Expedition  
1997 Michael Thomas  Doux de Coly Cave Exploration  
1996 Edward Cummings  “Earl of Abergavenny” Survey  
1995 Imperial College Branch Greenland Expedition  
1994 Marguerite St.Leger Dowse Man and Women in Diving  
1993 James Tyson  Tin Ingot Wreck  
1992 Captain Murray Whiteside Operation Battle Ensign  
1991 Major Gerald Moor Jutland Expedition  
1990 Dr. Cecil Jones Monitoring the Menai Straits  
1989 Cambridge University Branch Antigua Archaeology  
1988 Alan Griffiths  “Adopt a Rock” Mount Bays Cornwall  
1987 Ian Skelton  “Die Frau Metta Catherina von Flensburg”  
1986 Roger Blake  Arnheim Rhine Expedition  
1980 Les Holliday  St. Lucia Marine Biological Survey  
1979 Hugh Lubbock  St. Paul’s Rocks  
1978 Ken Clark  Lift of the “Gitana”  
1977 John Hancock  Laminaria Forest Project  
1975 Watford Branch  Chenies Well Archaeological Survey  
1974 Peter Cornish  Locate Midget Submarine X5 Kaajford - Norway  
1973 Peter Cornish  HMS XE8 Recovery Solent  
1970 Croydon Branch  Mewstone Ledges Archaeological Survey  
1969 Dr. David Bellamy Operation Kelp  
1968 Sidney Wignall  “Santa Maria de la Rosa”  
1967 Kingston Branch  Selsey Archaeology  
1965 Cambridge University Branch Sea Cucumber Research  
Heinke Trophy 2019 winners, Chester Sub Aqua Club

BSAC awards and prizes

How the organisation awards a range of members who have made outstanding contributions to diving and to BSAC

Learn more

Website by NetXtra