BSAC would be nothing without its volunteers and every year we aim to recognise the invaluable contribution our members make to the organisation.

We are delighted to announce the full list of this year’s BSAC award winners, as presented at the BSAC Diving Conference 2019, on Saturday 26 October at the Vox, NEC – our congratulations go to you all.

This year's BSAC Diving Conference was a sell-out success with over 850 delegates, 11 talks, 14 breakout sessions, 40 award winners and not one, but two world-renowned diving doctors. The day was a great success, bringing together members of a variety of qualification levels from across the country to network, listen to inspiring speakers and hear the latest in diver safety updates.

There will be a full report and pictures from the BSAC Diving Conference 2019 in the December issue of SCUBA magazine (out from 15 November). 

But in the meantime, here are our well-deserving 2019 winners:


Awarded to

BSAC Expeditions Trophy, sponsored by Paralenz
Awarded annually and presented to the organiser of the most significant British exploratory diving expedition of the year
Worcester Divers for Outer Limits, a club expedition to the Outer Hebrides in September 2018 
Heinke Trophy
Awarded to the branch furthering the interests of all branch members and of BSAC

 Chester Sub-Aqua Club

Certificate of Commendation:
Imperial College Underwater Club, Kingston & Elmbridge Junior Snorkellers, Pontefract Scuba Club, South China Diving Club
BSAC Safety Awards
Presented in recognition of endeavouring to save a life without involving diving techniques
Andrew Boyes, Fran Hockley, John Potten
Alan Broadhurst Safety Award
Awarded for the use of good diving lifesaving techniques. Presented to the rescuer, acknowledging and recognising their extreme bravery and use of good diving techniques
Will Brown, Stephen Dawson, Allan Macdonald, Ken Scott
Thank You Awards Mark Brabon, John Gibbon, Sophie Heptonstall, Dave Lock, Allen Murray, Nick Nutt, Tony Snow, Dave Wakelam
Aqua Lung Award
Presented to a BSAC member who goes that extra mile in the promotion of the club's aims and objectives
Mark Paisey
First Class Diver Awards
Awarded to successful candidates of the FCD
Nick Barter, Gill Bell, Cameron Cromwell, Stuart Duncan, Kev Ford, Frances Hockley, Paul Horsford, Mark Lovesey, Deborah McNeill, Gareth Morris, Phil Page, Kimberley Warham (FCD 1000), Chris Wilson
AP Diving Award
Awarded annually to the candidate who through rigorous judging proves to have the most admirable performance in the First Class Diver exam
 Fran Hockley
Collins and Chambers Open Water Instructor Award
Awarded to the most exemplary candidate on the Open Water Instructor Exams
 Donna Easton
Anchor Dive Lights AI Award
Awarded to the most exemplary candidate on the Advance Instructor Exam
 Paul Stafford
National Instructor Awards
Awarded to successful candidates of the National Instructor Exam
 Hywel Dyer, Kev Ford, Fran Hockley
Weezle Award
Best performance in the National Instructor Exam
 Fran Hockley
Wilkinson Sword
Awarded annually to the candidate who has the most admirable performance in a BSAC nationally assessed examination
 Hywel Dyer
Colin McLeod Award
Presented annually to person(s) who, in the opinion of the Trustees of the BSA Jubilee Trust, have contributed to international cooperation and harmony in diving and associated activities
 Martin Parker
Imogen Gray MP

Colin McLeod Award

Everyone in the room was upstanding upon the announcement that AP Diving's Martin Parker had been awarded the Colin McLeod Award.


More from BSAC Diving Conference 2019:

Website by NetXtra