BSAC has paid tribute to its amazing volunteers once again by recognising and celebrating award winners for 2023.

We are delighted to present the full list of BSAC award winners for 2023, as announced at the Go Diving Show, on Saturday 2nd March 2024 – our congratulations go to you all.

BSAC would be nothing without its volunteers and every year we aim to recognise the invaluable contribution our members make to the organisation, its aims and the community. Here are our well-deserving 2023 winners:


Awarded to

Heinke Trophy

Presented to the BSAC club furthering the interests of all club members and of BSAC

Aberdeen Sub-Aqua Club for an amazing turnaround in the club's fortunes, thanks to the drive and determination of members. Read the full story
Aberdeen SAC Aberdeen Sub-Aqua Club members

Aberdeen, Heinke Trophy winners 2023

BSAC Expeditions Trophy

Awarded annually and presented to the organiser of the most significant British exploratory diving expedition of the year

Clidive for their Atlantic Adventures exploration to the west coast of Ireland
Simon Rogerson Clidive - Expeditions Trophy winners 2023

Chris Wilson (L) accepts the award on behalf of Clidive from BSAC Expeditions Officer Andy Hunt

BSAC Safety Awards

Presented in recognition of endeavouring to save a life without involving diving techniques

Darren McDonagh

Alan Broadhurst Safety Awards

Awarded for the use of good diving lifesaving techniques. Presented to the rescuer, or rescuers, acknowledging and recognising their extreme bravery and use of good diving techniques

Steve Marriott, Wilfred Wooldridge, Iain Dixon
Simon Rogerson Iain Dixon, BSAC Safety Award Winner 2023

Iain Dixon (L) receives a certificate from Edward Haynes, Chair of BSAC

Volunteer of the Year Award

Presented to a BSAC member who goes that extra mile in the promotion of the club's aims and objectives

Kindly sponsored by O'Three

David Wakelam

Nationally assessed examination awards

First Class Diver Awards

Awarded to successful candidates of the FCD

Howard Rawson, Stuart Girdler, Stephen Dorricott, Alison Gaudion, Jim Burke, Stephen Slater
Simon Rogerson BSAC First Class Diver awards 2023

First Class Divers, L-to-R: Stephen Dorricott, Howard Rawson, Stuart Girdler, Stephen Slater with FCD Chief Examiner, Dave Lucas

Open Water Instructor Award

Awarded to the most exemplary candidate on the Open Water Instructor Exams

Kindly sponsored by Kent Tooling

Andrew Mott
Simon Rogerson Andrew Mott, OWI Award winner 2023

L-to-R: John Perrin of Kent Tooling and Pete Bicheno, BSAC ITG Leader present Andrew Mott with his prize and certificate

AI Award

Awarded to the most exemplary candidate on the Advanced Instructor Exam

Kindly sponsored by Nautilus UK

Ciara Corcoran
Simon Rogerson Ciara Corcoran, AI Award winner 2023

L-to-R: Brett Thorpe of Nautilus, Ciara Corcoran and Steve Capes, BSAC AI Chief Examiner

National Instructor Awards

Awarded to successful candidates of the National Instructor Exam

Kevin Holmes and David Pegler
Simon Rogerson NI Award winners 2023

L-to-R: David Pegler, Sophie Heptonstall, NI Chief Examiner and Kevin Holmes

NI Award

Awarded to the most exemplary candidate on the National Instructor Exam

Kindly sponsored by Weezle logo

David Pegler
Simon Rogerson NI Award winner 2023

David Pegler receives his NI Award from Paul Child of Weezle

Wilkinson Sword

Awarded annually to the candidate who has the most admirable performance in a BSAC nationally assessed examination

Simon Rogerson Dave Pegler Wilkinson Sword

Dai Atkins, BSAC NDO (L) presents the Wilkinson Sword

David Pegler

Congratulations to all our 2023 BSAC award winners.

Postponed awards

The following accolades were not awarded for 2023:

  • Colin McLeod Award – presented to person(s) who, in the opinion of the Trustees of the BSA Jubilee Trust, have contributed to international cooperation and harmony in diving and associated activities.
  • Peter Small Award – for ‘the most worthwhile and ambitious BSAC project, conducted in British waters.’
  • HRH Prince of Wales Scuba Award - for outstanding achievement in scuba research.

For more information on the annual BSAC awards, go to



Join the BSAC community

The BSAC network is working together to keep people connected to the sport. With online training, special interest webinars, competitions, support to clubs and the trade, and much more...we'd love you to join us.

Website by NetXtra