Synopsis of online BSAC Council meeting of 23 May 2021

Welcome and post AGM formalities

The Chair welcomed all attendees (particularly new members) and noted, for the minutes, formal thanks to outgoing Council members and Officers. The minutes from the previous meeting were agreed and the following motions were voted on and passed by Council:

- Paul Tarn & Geoffrey Duggan are appointed as Non-Exec Directors of BSAC
- Janos Suto has been elected to Honorary Treasurer and Edward Haynes to Honorary Secretary
- Brian Cummings is co-opted to Council until the next AGM to bring Council up to its minimum numbers as a consequence of Edward Haynes being elected as Honorary Secretary.
- Vice-Presidents were re-elected for a further year: Tony Marshall, Jane Maddocks, Phil Harrison and Clare Peddie.

Council members stated any 'Declarations of Interests' they have.

The Council noted an intention to continue with online AGMs for further meetings, with any feedback on format or process to come to the Chair and Secretary.

Performance, plans and strategy

The next section of the meeting addressed performance and the Council received a presentation on performance to budget. The group discussed some of the underlying assumptions and further scenario exploration and assumption setting will be discussed at future meetings.

The group discussed the insurance renewal and delegated decision relating to the policy to the Officers group.

Key reports

- The Chair, CEO and Environment group gave updates on key activities, including strategy implementation, governance review and environment strategy
- The CEO gave an update on office space and the HQ building
- Projects discussed included the BSAC app, BSAC Egypt/PanPac/International

Actions arising

All extant actions arising from prior meetings were closely reviewed on the action tracker; closed, confirmed as addressed through prior agenda items or flagged for future action as necessary.